Skip to main content

About Cumberland County

Located in the heart of the Northeast corridor, Cumberland County is situated along the Delaware Bay and conveniently located two hours from New York City and Baltimore and forty five minutes from Philadelphia and Atlantic City. Cumberland County was founded in January 1748 and occupies about 500 square miles of land in the south central part of New Jersey and has over 40 miles of Delaware Bay coastline. According to 2011 estimates from the U.S. Census Bureau over 157,000 people call Cumberland County home. It is comprised of 3 Cities, 10 Townships and 1 Borough.

Cumberland County’s economy was developed around four principal industries, glass making, food processing, textiles and maritime trades. As early as the 19th century, NJ was one of the 4 leading oyster producing States in the Nation. Port Norris became known as the “Oyster Capital of the World”. It was said that there were more millionaires per square mile in the Port Norris area than anywhere else in the Nation. By the late 1800’s there were over 300 oyster boats operating on the Delaware Bay employing approximately 1,500 people. The Glass industry also had a significant presence in all three cities until the 1970’s. Today, Cumberland County enjoys a strong agricultural base with targeted industry sectors that include Health Care, Construction, Hospitality/Tourism and Advanced Manufacturing.

Cumberland County is governed by a seven member Board of County Commissioners. They are elected to a three-year term by registered voters in Cumberland County.

Download Our App.

164 W. Broad St., Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Phone: (856) 453-2125